A History of Melbourne Cup Winners

While you’re mixing and mingling at your Melbourne Cup event in 2017, why not dazzle your fellow guests with some titbits of Melbourne Cup History. Here is a list of the winners from the last 10 years and a little piece of information about each one.

Efficient 2007

Efficient is a New Zealand Horse, raced by Michael Rodd when he won the Melbourne cup in 2007. This was the last Melbourne cup Efficient ran, while he did race professionally for a while after his big Melbourne Cup win Efficient is now officially retired. He lives at ‘Living Legends’ which is an international home of rest for champion horses.

Efficient Wins Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiNFZy7oEKo

Viewed 2008

Viewed was an Australia Thoroughbred stallion racehorse who won the 2008 Melbourne Cup ridden by Blake Shin he was trained by Bart Cumming who has 12 Melbourne cup wins under his belt. This race was a tight photo finish which found view only beating competitor Bauer by a hundredth of a second.

Viewed Wins Melbourne Cup https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRkvGruwBZQ

Shocking 2009

Shocking was the last Australia Bred Horse to win the Melbourne Cup. After his win in 2009 he went on to win many more titles and even went on to win the Australia Cup three years later in 2011. This was Shocking’s last race.

Shocking Wins 2009 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJVRg7FWpg8

Americain 2010

Americain was a French trained, American Bred stallion. He won the Melbourne Cup in 2010. Now Americain lives on a Famous Victorian Breeding stud, Swettenham stud.

Americain Wins 2010 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wp7KpCW_bQ

Dunaden 2011

Dunaden is the first horse to win the Hong Kong Vase directly after winning the Melbourne Cup. In 2012 he maintained his undefeated run in Australia with a win in the Caulfield Cup.

Dunaden Wins 2011 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Dunaden+2011

Green Moon 2012

Green Moon was an Irish bred racehorse trained in Australia.  Green Moon was originally ridden by Damien Oliver who was replaced by Brett Prebble after Oliver was accused of betting on a horse in a race while he was riding another.

Green Moon Wins 2012 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YcO6QK0eL3M

Fiorente 2013

Fiorente’s win in 2013 was the first Melbourne Cup Triumph for trainer and prominent racing figure Gai Waterhouse. This was also a personal triumph for jockey Damien Oliver who had been suspended over a betting charge the previous year. This was Oliver’s third Melbourne Cup win with successes in 1995 and 2002, the latter being an emotional victory coming in the week his brother, a revered jockey, was killed in a track accident.

Fiorente  Wins 2013 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zx1uDf_4nVM

Protectionist 2014

Protectionist became the first German trained and bred horse to win the Melbourne Cup in 2014. Protectionist is the half-brother of fellow Melbourne Cup winner Fiorente. This race was unfortunately marred by the death of two other horse including pre-race favourite Admire Rakti.

Protectionist Wins 2014 Melbourne Cup:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTAyi3W2ty0

Prince of Penzance 2015

Prince of Penzance is a New Zealand-bred racehorse who was ridden in the 2015 Melbourne Cup by Michelle Payne. This victory led Payne to become the first female jockey to win the prestigious race.

Prince of Penzance Wins 2015 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEETqhZ_nOg

Almandin 2016

Almandin is an 8 year old bey gelding from Germany. He was sired by famous stallion Monsun who is also the father of previous Melbourne Cup winners, Protectionist and Fiorente. Almandin is believed to be a favourite for the 2017 Melbourne Cup after coming back in ominous form and could become a back to back winner. This year Almandin will be ridden by famous Australian Jockey Damian Oliver.

Almandin Wins 2016 Melbourne Cup: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LrAGPO_QCk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.